My Acne Story – Part 2

Hey!
Sorry for the delay, just been busy the last couple of days.

Heres the long awaited part 2 of the story!

Ok! So as I had mentioned, I stopped using the golden pearl cream and that’s when the nightmare began. I started breaking out. I then started using golden pearl again, to clear it up and minimise the damage but the cream didn’t work like it did before.
The worst of all was that I was about to get married!  Thank goodness for makeup! πŸ˜€

After I got married, my skin was OK. Not too bad.
I was switching up face washes. Can’t remember what I used. After 2-3 months I started breaking out badly.
I was getting those big red 1s again. All over my face. It seemed worse than it ever was before. And I had to wake up next to my hubby like that 😦 I was so embarrassed. Even though he didn’t mind

Again I was considering roaccutane but the risk was bigger because now I was married and there should be no way that I could fall pregnant while on it and for a few months after I stopped treatment. So say a year. That would mean I had to go on 2 types of birth control and use extra protection!  :/

I decided to try the vitamins again, did more research and I made a decision

This is when I finally cleared my skin up.

I started taking vitamins A, D, B-Complex. Zinc and Evening Primrose oil.
Now it is excessive, I know, but I was desperate.
That helped my skin a little but what really did help was the following.
I started juicing. I would juice fruits and veg and drink 1-2 glasses a day, and lots of water.

When I started the juicing, I stopped most of the vitamins because I was getting what i needed from the fruit and veg.

The fruits and veg that I used were: green apples, carrots, cucumber, spinach, and grape juice.
I would just blend it up and then strain.

I saw my skin clearing up day by day.

On my face I would use:
Lemon juice, applied with a cotton pad and rinse off after 20-30 minutes.
Yogurt and lemon mask
Scrub with sugar.
And wash with oats.

I’d wash my face with oats everyday, twice a day.
Apply the lemon juice and yogurt-lemon mask only once a day.

After a few weeks I gradually used it less and less.

As I mentioned, my skin isn’t perfect but it has never been better.
Over a year later and these home remedies still work for me when I have bad skin days.

DISCLAIMER: Every persons skin is different. What works for me, might not work for you. But I suggest giving it a try first and the see how it goes.
Because,  in my opinion, natural remedies are best. Instead of loading harsh chemicals on it. Your skin will thank you for it later.
*Always do a patch test first to see if your skin reacts negatively to any product

*When applying lemon juice to the face, it will sting the first few times but your skin will adjust, if you have severe burning and your skin turns red, wash off immediately.
You can then dilute the lemon juice instead.

If you have any questions, leave a comment or email me on makeupastorm@gmail.com

The End πŸ™‚

Much love
F xxx

6 thoughts on “My Acne Story – Part 2

  1. Slmz.Wat a wonderful and helpful blog.look forward to reading your posts everyday.please could you help with hair growth tips n how to get thicker hair.also maybe some good hairdresserS in lenasia area if any1 could help.also could you add some tips for what’s good for toddlers n preschoolers skin,for face,something with good moisture but will not burn their skin wen out in da sun.jazakallah

    Like

    • Wslm. So glad you are enjoying our blog πŸ™‚
      My favorite hair growth tip is using castor oil. I was going to do a post about it and I will get to it soon :p
      Apply to damp or dry and leave for a few hours or overnight.
      It leaves your hair super soft and increases growth and prevents hair fall.
      Use twice a week.
      Let us know how it works for you

      Unfortunately we are both not from the Lenasia area so we can’t help you with that.
      Maybe some of our readers could advise

      I’ll look into what you could use for kids and do a post soon, so keep your eye on the blog.

      If you have any other questions or suggestions please do let us know.
      Jazaakallah so much for your comment πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Is Proactiv still around? Haven’t seen it in a long time. My sister used that and it worked well for her.
      Glad you found something that works for you!
      Thanks for the feedback and kind words πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Oh! Thought you were also in South Africa. Thankfully, my skin is clear at the moment. And has been in good shape since it cleared up as I’ve mentioned in my story. I do get 1 or 2 pimples now and then but they don’t bother me because within a few day they are gone

        Like

Leave a Reply

