Cleaning your Makeup Brushes

image

Greetings my beautiful readers
How are we doing on this lovely Friday evening? 
How are the fasts going? I’m finding it easy breezy 😀 Alhamdulillah! 

So this post is all about cleaning your makeup brushes!
I know I know! It sucks! I’ll be honest I get lazy too, but it needs to be done!

Washing your makeup brushes should be done atleast twice a month, better yet, once a week.
Cleaning your brushes will ensure flawless makeup application. It will also make your brushes last longer.

Dirty brushes can transfer dirt and bacteria to your skin, causing breakouts and blemishes. 
If you do have pimples, make sure to clean your brushes every week and use an anti-bacterial soap (Dettol hand wash works well)
Otherwise I normally use Johnsons baby shampoo (the yellow 1) and it works just fine for me.

I personally find makeup brush cleaners to be ridiculously expensive and not worth it *no offence to anyone, that’s just my opinion* 

Now, when washing my brushes, I like to 1st make a mixture of warm water and the shampoo in a small bowl then let my brushes soak for a few minutes, this basically softens any dried makeup product on the bristles, making it easier to wash off. 

image

Then, taking 1 brush at a time, I either apply shampoo directly to my brush or on my hand, then gently rub the brush against my hand in circular motions, making sure I am cleaning all the bristles.

image

Continue washing until you see that the soap/water is clean and all makeup product is out of the brush.
Rinse well and squeeze and shake excess water out.

You want to reshape your brush at this point so it dries like that and then either lay it flat to dry or upside down.
This is important, if any water goes down in the brush, it can cause the glue that holds the bristles together to become damaged and then you will have a problem with shedding. 

image

I usually lay a clean towel or tissues on the edge of a table and lay my brushes over

I find the best time to wash my brushes late afternoon or early evening, that way I’m done using them for the day and they have enough time to dry until I need to use them again.
Dense brushes will naturally take longer to dry.

What do you use to clean your brushes? And what tips can you share with the rest of us? Let us know 🙂 

Have a lovely day ahead! 🙂 and keep warm!

Hugs & Kisses 
F xxx

2 thoughts on “Cleaning your Makeup Brushes

Leave a Reply

