The Oil Cleansing Method

Hey guys

So I know we’ve been very scarce lately,  but it is the holiday season and we’ve just been relaxing and enjoying it.
I was feeling bad for not posting for so long so I just decided to do a quick post on my experience with the oil cleansing method. Enjoy!

So I’m pretty sure most people will know exactly what I’m talking about, but for some of you who don’t,  I’ll just give a brief explanation.
It is basically using oil and a specific method to cleanse your face, simple!

The exact method to doing this is as follows:

Whether you choose to remove your makeup beforehand is totally up to you, but if you dont, that’s absolutely find because the oils will remove it all.
Start with a dry face and take a coin sized amount of oil in the palm of your hand and rub it between your hands to warm it up a little.
Then start massaging it over your entire face for atleast 2-3 minutes.
You can massage for longer if you like.
Once you’re done with that, take a face cloth and run it under hot water. It should be as hot as you can handle, careful not to burn yourself though!
Squeeze the cloth out and place it over face, leaving it on until the cloth cools down.
After a few “steams” use the cloth to wipe all the oil off of your face.
Finish off by splashing some cold water on your face.

So I decided to mix my own blend of oils because previously I had tried the oil cleanser from Hey Gorgeous and it didn’t work for me. So I decided to make my own.
I used Castor oil, which is a staple in any oil cleanser, and Grapeseed oil, I chose grapeseed oil because it is non-comedogenic and very moisturising.
Later on, I also added a few drops of lavender oil and some rosehip oil as well.

When I first started off, I used 30% castor oil and 70% grapeseed oil only.
And I only used it every 2nd day.
After a few days I noticed my skin feeling a bit dry so I added more grapeseed oil and some lavender and rosehip oil for added benefits.

The 1st week or so I noticed my skin was extremely smooth and soft, it also had a glow to it.
And I thought that this time it would work for me.

But after a week I started breaking out. Mariam, who has used this successfully, had told me to wait it out as purging is normal and will end soon.
After a few weeks I was still breaking out and my skin was extremely clogged. I had more comedones and blackheads.

I had also stopped using my Clarisonic because I had replaced it with the oil cleansing.
So I started using my Clarisonic with the oil cleanser, after steaming and just before wiping all the oil off. I’ll say I did notice an improvement but not significant. So i decided to stop the oil cleansing all together.

I have not used my oil cleanser again and don’t think its for me. I really liked how my skin looked while using it except for the congestion.

I know lots of people who have used this with success, including my sister Mariam, like I have mentioned.
But it just didn’t work for me.

Have you tried oil cleansing before? Drop us a comment and let us know what you used and if it worked for you.
We’ll be abck in the new year with more posts and exciting news!

Wishing all our readers a happy 2015!
XOXO Fatima ♡

6 thoughts on “The Oil Cleansing Method

  1. I have the body shop chamomile cleansing oil, generally take off all my make up especially my eye make up first coz it’s just a hot mess to remove that with the oil it kinda feels like I rubbing the make up into the skin and then once U add a little bit of water it soaps up n comes off nicely.. I alternate between that and my Clarisonic and it works great.. I find if I don’t use my clarisonic for a while I get little bumps on my skin. When you’re breaking out the lush mask of magnaminty is awesome, U can use it on ur breakouts as a spot treatment if you don’t want to use it all over your face im in love with the mask it makes ur skin feel so soft, supple and smooth, definitely try that out if you haven’t it’s amazing

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have heard about that mask and how awesome it is. Unfortunately you can’t buy masks online so that is why I haven’t gotten my hands on it yet but ass oon as i get a chance to go to a Lush store, that’s the 1st thing that will be in my basket!

      I have a problem with congestion, those tiny bumps as you described, so oil cleansing just made it worse.

      Like

  2. I use olive oil for my OCM method. But I only use it once a week before using a face mask or when removing make up. I have never had any issues with clogged pores. You may want to try a different oil

    Like

  3. I’ve tried this method and it’s worked wonders for my skin. It’s given me a glow and healthy looking skin. To those that are willing to try this I used the following guidelines: Oily Skin: Try a blend of 30% Castor Oil to 70% Sunflower Seed Oil.
    Balanced Skin: Try a blend of 20% Castor Oil to 80% Sunflower Seed Oil.
    Dry Skin: Try a blend of 10% Castor Oil to 90% Sunflower Seed Oil. Followed by 2 steams. I only did this treatment at night and for no more than 3 nights at a time. I think it’s great for Just before a function to give you that extra glow. Hope this helps 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

