Favourite Foundations with Mini Reviews

Greetings!  

We’ve done a post before on our favourite blushes, so we wanted to do a kind of series and post about all our top favourite makeup products. This time we’ll be doing Foundations! We’ve also added in short reviews so you guys can see what type of foundation is it, if it would be suitable for you and obviously tell you guys why we love it.

Enjoy!  

image
Favourite Foundations with reviews - MAC Studio Sculpt, Revlon Photoready, L'Oréal Infallible, Kryolan Supracolor, Maybelline Fit Me!

1st up we have: 
♡ MAC Studio Sculpt Foundation in NC30 ♡ Mariam
This foundation just feels and smells so luxurious.  I love the finish as well as coverage it provides. Its a gel like texture which dries to a dewy satin finish and can be built up to full coverage without feeling cakey. You have to set this with powder if you have oily skin as it will slide off. It does feel a tad bit sticky if you add too many layers.  But all in all another great foundation by MAC. 

♡ Revlon Photoready in 008 Golden Beige ♡ Mariam
This has become my everyday foundation. Although I find it takes a little more time to blend than other foundations. But It gives my skin a natural looking radiance and lasts a good few hours without fading. It is a medium coverage foundation but can be built up slightly. Great for winter as it gives dull dry skin a refreshed look. I want to try the new formula soon. Which claims to give an airbrush effect.
NB – This foundation does have tiny specs of shimmer in it, which isn’t straight up noticeable but photographs really beautifully, so if you don’t like shimmer then this is not for you, if you don’t mind then you will like it.

♡ L’Oréal Infallible Foundation in 250 Radiant Sand ♡ Mariam
This is definately at the top of my list! Everytime I wear this foundation I get compliments about my skin. I simply love the finish, coverage, smell, texture, packaging.. a plus that it has a pump. The finish isn’t dewy or matte, I’d say a natural finish. Has medium to full coverage and lasts forever without budging! Definately a must try if you’re looking for a great drugstore foundation that isn’t pricey. There’s also a good selection of shades available. This teamed with Rimmel Stay Matte powder is my dream team combo. 

♡ Kryolan Supracolor in FS22 ♡ Fatima

This is a creme foundation, it provides excellent coverage and it’s super soft and silky and doesn’t feel heavy on the skin. It’s also really good for drier skins as it doesn’t cling to dry patches and goes on really smoothly. 

The colour match is not perfect, but I got it because it’s very yellow. The story is, I actually didn’t do a colour match test and had Mariam compare it to another foundation and order it for me, so what I’ve been doing is, mixing it with an Ushas Foundation Stick which is quite pale and the combination of the 2 makes a great match for me.
But I am planning on getting myself matched so I can get my perfect shade, without having to mix 2 foundations!

I find with this foundation, it is necessary to set it with a powder, otherwise it tends to melt/slide off. So unless you want your entire face to transfer onto someone you hug, do yourself a favour and set it!

Also, a little goes a long way, just a dab of my brush into the pan will literally cover half of my face!

♡ Maybelline Fit Me! Foundation in 110 Porcelain ♡ Fatima

This has been my go-to foundation since the day I got it.
The main but not only reason why I love it so much is because the colour match is absolutely perfect.
My biggest struggle is finding foundations which are pale but have yellow undertones.
Most are just too pink compared to my complexion. 
This foundation, being the lightest shade available, didn’t have much colour to it and looked almost whitish on my skin. But it also made it perfect for me to make it more yellow to match my skintone, since adding yellow to it does make it a tad bit darker. 
 (I will be doing a full post on how I make my foundations more yellow, let us know if you would like to see this)

Besides the colour match, I love this foundation because it gives a very natural-dewy finish, provides light buildable to medium coverage so it looks like skin and not cakey at all. 

It sits really well on my normal to dry skin and once set, lasts a decent amount of time. 
The only downside to this is that the Maybelline Fit Me range is not available in South Africa, however I did find a few foundations at some Dischem stores in a very small selection of shades.
I consider myself lucky to have found this since its so perfect for me!

Here are swatches of the above mentioned foundations.

image
Foundation Swatches

Thank you for reading guys.
PS – Our birthday giveaway post will be up tomorrow.  Keep your eyes peeled! Not to be missed

Please check out some of our other posts and don’t forget to subscribe and follow us on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook. 

Ciao 😙 Mariam & Fatima ♡

XOXO Makeup a Storm

3 thoughts on “Favourite Foundations with Mini Reviews

Leave a Reply

