April Favourites

image
April Favourites - South African Beauty Blog - Makeupastorm

Essence XXXL Nude Lipgloss in 03 Taste the Sweets

The “Nude” collection from Essence has taken the makeup world by storm. Everyone is raving about it and absolutely everyone has fallen inlove.

Nude makeup is thee hottest makeup trend at the moment, and I think of all time.
I love everything about this lipgloss. It provides moisture and a glossy shine to my lips without any frostiness or glitter.

It’s not sticky or tacky at all so it feels really comfortable on the lips. They also have a nice selection of nudes so you’ll find something to suit your fancy.

Essence Longlasting Lipstick in 07 Natural Beauty

This was my 1st Essence Lipstick purchase, Mariam on the other hand, has an entire collection of her own!

I chose this colour because I’m not a lipstick kinda gal and always gravitate towards natural looking colours, and this is so close to my natural lip colour, it’s amazing. Again, another “my lips but better” shade. 

They last a decent amount of time but obviously need touch ups after eating or drinking. And last longer when paired with a lipliner. There’s loads of shades available in this line as well, and available in different finishes.
This has been my go to lipstick for the entire month since I bought it.

Bourjois Healthy Mix Concealer in 53 Medium

I’m always on the look out for concealers because they do come in handy. I don’t suffer with crazy dark circles or eye bags but sometimes I need a little brightening up after a night of poor sleep (welcome to motherhood) or when I have new friends making an appearance on my face.

And while I still do love my LA Girl Pro Conceal,  I like experimenting with other concealers. I prefer creamy liquid concealers and haven’t gone near a stick formula in ages. Maybe I should try 1 again sometime.

So 1 day I came across this at Clicks and when I swatched it I was really impressed. 
It offers really great coverage, it feela super light and blends well into the skin.

I much prefer to use it on spots than underneath my eyes as my skin is quite dry atm and it rather accentuates that. So I do think it will be a great under eye concealer for Summer.

However, as I said, for spot concealing, it’s the bomb! Covers really well and doesn’t cake up.

L’Oréal Paris Lumi Magique Pure Light Primer

Dewy, Glowy skin is the only way I like my makeup. I simply just don’t like the whole flat matte look. 1 of the reasons being, my skin gets dry. Especially now that Winter is coming in, I have patches flaking off and it’s just awful. I can’t imagine how horrid my face would look if I had to creat a matte base 😐
Anyhoo… on the other hand, what I dislike even more is having glitter or shimmer all over my face. Its fine if there’s shimmer in my blush or obviously highlighter,  but all over my face? No thank you! I don’t dig the disco ball look.

And this is what I loooovvvve about this primer! It gives my skin such a pretty glow, looks almost metallic when applied to bare skin, but has no shimmer or glitter at all!
It still peeks through when topped with foundation. I use it pretty much all over my face but focus it on my points: bridge of nose, cheekbones, forehead and chin.

Sometimes I like mixing it in with a pore-filling primer so that I have a smooth-poreless base which is glowy at the same time and will make my makeup last ALL day.

Maybelline Fit Me! Foundation in 110 Porcelain

I won’t go into so much detail as to why this is a favourite because we did an entire post on our favourite foundations.  Go check it out here

As mentioned, I love glowy dewy skin and this gives me just that.
The finish is dewy but looks natural. The coverage is light to medium so the finished look, looks like skin rather than looking as if you just slapped on a layer of foundation.

Unfortunately the Fit me line isn’t available in South Africa and I was just lucky to finda few shades at my local Dis-Chem and this shade was a perfect match.

Thank you for reading!
PS- Don’t forget to check out and enter our giveaway we are running at the moment 😉

Love and Makeup
Fatima xxx

XOXO Makeup a Storm

Leave a Reply

