May 2015 Favourites

Greetings Beautiful people and Hello June!

So with June not only comes Winter, but May Favourites! 

I’m sure most of you didn’t know, but May is my birthday month 😀 

So yes, I’m sad that it has passed by so quickly! 

Moving on…. here are some of the makeup items I’ve been reaching for and loving throughout the month of May!

image
May Favourites - Makeupastorm South African Beauty Blog

♡ Maybelline Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser ♡

This is hands down, thee best primer I’ve used (bare in mind I have yet to try the most famous 1s out there like Benefit Porefessional and Smashbox Photofinish primers)

But honestly this is amazing! Especially for the price point, so glad we will be able to get this in SA soon!

It really does smooth out pores and creates a smooth, velvety canvas so that your foundation glides on ever so smoothly and keeps it looking that way throughout the day. 

It also has not irritated or dried my skin out. Honestly I can’t find 1 thing that I don’t like about it.

♡ Beauty Blender Pro ♡

Holy Grail over here! I just love this little guy! Especially for applying concealer under the eyes, but I do use it for foundation as well, on most days.

Flawless, even application in seconds, with no cake face. Love it for my dry skin.

♡ ELF HD High Definition Powder ♡

I have the shade Sheer, so basically it’s translucnt/colourless. 
Another Holy Grail. Best setting powder I’ve tried. It just smoothes out everything and my makeup literally looks airbrushed. Keeps it looking that way all day too.

I use this all over my face with my ELF kabuki brush which is basically a huge fluffy powder brush.
Then I use a smaller tapered brush to set my under eye area.
My concealer doesn’t budge all day!  No more settling into those fine lines, making me look triple my age!

I also love the fact that it’s so finely milled so it doesn’t make my skin look dry or emphasise dry patches and just end up looking cakey!

♡ Essence Pure Skin Soft Touch Mousse Makeup ♡

Ok so I’ve never used a mousse foundation before this, mainly because they all have matte finishes.
I don’t do matte.
Coz I have drier skin and I don’t like looking all flat and bleagh.

But this… this exceeded my expectations. 
1st off, the colour isn’t a perfect match, but I make it work.
And work does it! The finish is definitely not flat matte but rather has a more natural finish. Staying power is great and let me just tell you guys how easy this is to blend. I use my beauty blender and this combo is a dream! 😍

♡ Avon Glimmersticks Brights in Aqua Shock ♡

So if you’ve been reading and following us for a while now, you would know how much I love these eyeliners.
I let go and decided to try this bright aqua blue colour and OmG I’m in love! 
1stly, it glides on so effortlessly and 2ndly, it is so so pigmented and lastly, how frikkem pretty is this colour??

♡ Milani Baked Blush in Luminoso ♡

I’ve waited for years to get my hands on this blush and I’m so glad I am not disappointed. 
I was scared that this was gonna be disappointing because I simply cannot stand having glitter on my face.
And while you can see shimmer specks in the pan, when you apply it, it doesn’t show on your skin and just give a gorgeous glow. So its like a 2 in 1 blush and highlighter.

♡ EOS Lip Blam in Sweet Mint ♡

Anyone here like Endemols? Well imagine that on your lips. 
As the name says, it has a sweet minty flavour/scent to it. I love the tingly feeling it gives my lips and obviously the hydration and moisture it provides.
It lasts quite long, both the lip balm itself/the moisture it provides, as well as the scent.

If there’s 1 flavour of EOS I think you need, it’s definitely gonna be this 1.

♡ Essence I ♡ Nude Eyeshadow in Creme Brulee ♡

Best for last? Maybe 😉

Ok so it is an eyeshadow, and I do use it that way most of the time.
But I also use it as a cheekbone highlighter and omg it’s so perrrrfect! 
It’s also GORG for the inner corner or brow bone highlight. 
It has a frosty sheen to it but no shimmer or glitter, which means,  this is my new best friend! 😄

All the eyeshadows in the line are super soft and creamy, really pigmented and easy to blend. And the finishes are heavenly!

Need to collect them all!

That’s all for my May favourites! Hope you enjoyed, please subscribe and give us a follow on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook

Hope you all have a fab week ahead! 
Love and respect! 
F xxx

XOXO Makeup a Storm

3 thoughts on “May 2015 Favourites

Leave a Reply

