September 2015 Favourites

I know I’m a bit late with this, sorry.
But better late than never, right? 😉

So here are some of my favourites products I’ve been loving recently 

image
September Favourites - Makeupastorm Beauty Blog South Africa

Garnier Pure Active Micellar Cleansing Water

I’ve mentioned in a previous post that makeup remover wasn’t really my thing, it always irritated my skin and I had a good enough cleanser that removed makeup and cleansed at the same time and also that I loved using olive oil to remove eye makeup.
No doubt olive oil is amazing but this is better! 
I’m glad it doesn’t irritate my skin or eyes, doesn’t burn or sting, removes every bit of makeup including waterproof mascara and eyeliner.
Oh and doesn’t leave me with blurred vision as the oil does 😛

What’s not to love about it? 
I can’t think of a single bad thing about it. 
I love it for removing makeup before cleansing and it’s also perfect for lazy days. All you need is some cotton pads. Swipe swipe all over your face and you’re good to go.

Even though this 1 claims to be for combo-oily skin, and my skin is more on the dry side, but in no way has this dried my skin out.

I have about a quarter bottle left and I’ve already purchased the original version.

27pinkx Blush Brush

The name says “blush brush” but it’s quite different to the standard blush brushes on the market.

It is significantly more dense which therefore makes it perfect for foundation application and that’s what I’ve noticed most people use it for.

When I first got it I said I was gonna try it with foundation and if it didn’t do a great job I would settle to use it as a blush brush. But it’s really amazing. It isn’t as dense as my kabuki brushes, so the application and finish is somehow different but I quite like it.

Sorry for the gross dirty brush, I didn’t get a chance to wash it before taking pictures 😆

Bourjois Happy Light Foundation 

If you keep up with is on Instagram  (and you should! So go follow us now @makeupastorm)
You would have seen my post on my Spree order I placed  when they had their 3 for 2 Beauty Sale a little while back.
(Got the 27pinkx brush from there as well)
I also got this foundation, and because it was an online purchase, the colour match is not perfect.
It is a tad bit dark for me and matches only if I self-tan, which I rarely do. Hmm maybe I should more often……

Unfortunately the shade I have (no.52) is the lightest 1 available in SA so I can’t get a shade lighter.

Anyway, besides the colour, I absolutely love the foundation. 
It has a light to medium coverage and gives the skin a natural glow. Not too dewy or matte.
I’ve actually been mixing it with my L’Oréal True Match Foundation in shade W1 (which I’ve made more yellow)

Mixing it with the L’Oréal foundation does give it a little more coverage but doesn’t change it completely. 
It keeps my skin looking healthy throughout the day, it feels comfortable on my skin and keeps it feeling hydrated and looking healthy.
It’s the foundation I’ve been using almost everyday.

ELF Studio Blush in Mellow Mauve

This colour is absolutely perfect for everyday wear. It gives my skin a naturally flushed look. It isn’t shimmery or matte so I why it looks so natural. 

It’s also not too pigmented so it’s not easy to over do it even if you’re heavy handed.

BTW I’m so glad ELF Cosmetics is coming to South Africa, their products are so amazing and reasonably priced, real value for money.
Follow them on Instagram @elfcosmeticssa to keep up with their launch details

The Body Shop Nutriganics Eye Cream

More recently I’ve noticed concealer setting into my undereye area and I’ve realised that I stopped using an eye cream.
This keeps my eye area evened out, no more dark circles, and also hydrated so there’s less creasing and my eye area doesn’t look cakey when I wear makeup.
Using an eye cream can make a huge difference in the way your makeup looks and stays throughout the day.

I also love that this has 98% of natural ingredients.

Last but not least…

Avon Scent Essence – Sparkling Citrus

I’ve never featured a fragrance on the blog before but I had to mention this.
It’s the perfect Spring/Summer scent.
It’s fresh and light but not too sweet or citrusy.
It really reminds me of the green Impulse Body Spray, which I don’t think is available anymore.

So it kinda takes me back to my past and that’s another reason why I love it.
When on special, you can pick up a bottle for just R99!

That’s all for my favourites.

Drop us a comment and let us know what you’ve been loving for the past month 🙂

Hope you are all enjoying the Summery weather
Stay cool 🍦🍹

xoxo F ♡

XOXO Makeup a Storm

Leave a Reply

