2015 Makeup Favourites

Hello angels!

We’re a bit late with this 1 but nevertheless, here it is!

This post is just makeup favourites and we will be doing a skincare favourites post as well, so keep an eye out for that.

Lets get started…

Fatima’s Favourites,

image
Makeupastorm 2015 Makeup Favourites - South African Beauty Blog

Primer

Hands down has to be the L’oreal Lumi Magique Primer 

I love the glowy look it gives me and it really smooths out my skin allowing foundation to blend really easily. I find it really makes my makeup look gorgeous! 

Foundation  

This was a tough 1! But I chose the Kryolan Supracolor Foundation because it’s 1 I’ve had for the longest time this year and it’s 1 I reach for most often
I love it on its own and I love mixing it with other foundations as well.
It’s a staple in my collection and I’m going to purchase a back up before it even gets finished!
Its a Gorgeous cream foundation that lasts well and looks amazing.

Concealer 
LA Girl Pro Conceal HD Concealer
I didn’t need to even think about this 1

This is my holy grail concealer. Its the only concealer that doesn’t crease on my eyes, even without setting it with powder. It’s not drying and it looks amazing and lasts through the day.

Powder

MAC Studio Fix Powder

Another holy grail staple. I love this powder!

I’ve used as a setting powder and it’s amazing. It adds extra coverage and sets makeup in place without caking up and making my skin look dry and crepey.
I even use it to set concealer under my eyes
I’ve also used it as a powder foundation for days where I didn’t feel like wearing a lot of makeup and again it wasn’t drying and looks lovely.

Blush

Ofcourse it had to be my beloved Milani blush in the shade Luminoso ❤
This has lived up to my expectations. No wait, it has exceeded them!
This blush suits my fair warm/yellow skintone perfectly and it’s got a lovely fine shimmer through it which also acts as a highlighter. 

Highlighter  

I chose this Baked Terracotta Powder from Golden rose.
From the time I first swatched it I fell inlove.
It almost gives your skin like a glowy sheen instead of a shimmery /frosty highlight.
Its perfect to use daily coz its not an over the top, in your face highlighter.
Definitely what I prefer in a highlighter.  

Eyeliner

LA Girl Gel eyeliner in Black 
This is my baby! I use it inside my eyes as I would a pencil liner and as a liquid liner on the upper lash line and it’s brilliant!
It lasts for ages and it Does Not Budge!
And its super black!
What more could a girl want from an eyeliner?

Mascara

This is 1 category where I couldn’t choose and so I put both in.
1 has been a favourite for like years now and the other is more recent. 
Avon SuperShock Max mascara. I keep going back to this. I can’t find a single thing I don’t like about it. It gives me long, voluminous  and perfectly separated lashes.

Essence I ♡ Extreme Crazy Volume mascara. This is actually really similar to the Avon 1 and I guess that’s why I can’t seem to choose between the 2. They both have fairly large wands with similar bristles. 
Again, give me amazing volume amd length without any clumping.
Btw I also love the L’Oréal Miss Manga but I didn’t add it in coz I threw away the tube, coz I completely finished it.

Brows

Essence How to Make Brows WOW! 

1stly, the packaging on this is super cute and looks like it could be a product by Benefit or something. 
2ndly, the dark brown shade is perfect for me. Its not too warm or too ashy. And it also contains a highlight shade to use under ur browbone.
Plus, it really lasts all day.

Lips

Ok so even though I didn’t have this too long, it has become a favourite rather  quickly and I’ve used it more often and like it a lot more than any of the other lipbalms I own (including EOS)
These Oh So Heavenly Bubble Balms are divine!
My favourite is the Vanilla Cupcake and yes I love the smell, but the actual lipbalm is the bomb.com!
Its super smooth and really does keep my lips hydrated.

Another recent discovery is the Essence Liquid Lipstick 

Yss I’ve only had it for about a month but I know if I had bought it months ago it would still be in this post.

It’s not your typical liquid lipstick. 1stly it’s not matte, it’s glossy. 
It’s like a really pigmented lipgloss.

It’s not sticky, lasts well and the colour I have is gorgeous. Since I’m not a lipstick/lip colour person,  I’ve used it more than any other lip product I have since it looks so natural and gorgeous. 

Tools

I chose the Beauty Blender as my favourite tool coz I use it daily! I always switch up brushes for everything else depending on which 1s are clean but my beauty blender is something I reach for everyday.

Whether it’s to blend out concealer or apply foundation or to even smooth out foundation that I applied with a brush, it’s an amazing tool and I think everyone should have 1.

And last but definitely not least

Eyeshadow 

This palette is everything to me!

I have 2 Mophe palettes as some of you might know but the other 1 is the 35B Glam palette which has all bright colours.
This obviously is more user friendly, it can be used to create countless looks from soft and subtle to bold and dramatic.

It has a combo of warm, neutral and cool toned shades as well as mattes, shimmers, satin and pearlized finishes.
I honestly don’t think I would need another palette but hey, that has not stopped me from buying more 😂

Obviously there are some other products which I absolutely love but these are just the 1s are love a little more and actually used it more than everything else.

Mariam’s Favourites

image
Makeupastorm 2015 Makeup Favourites - South African Beauty Blog

Foundation

I’ve found 3 foundations this year that I’ve been literally obsessed with. Which is strange for me because I’ve always struggled to find foundations that have great coverage but doesn’t feel heavy or break me out due to my extremely sensitive, acne prone skin. 

1. The Loreal Infallible 24hr foundation
This is my go to, everyday foundation that lasts and stays looking fresh throughout the day. Colour match is absolutely perfect, I’m not gonna go into too much detail coz I’ve raved about this in our fav foundations post.

2. Loreal Infallible Pro Matte
On those extremely hot humid kind of days, I opt for this 1 coz I do have fairly oily skin and this really keeps my oils at bay.
The coverage is amazing and also lasts throughout the day. 
3. Estee Lauder Double Wear
This 1 is a recent discovery. But OMG! I fell inlove with it immediately so I had to give it a mention.
It’s oil free, non comedogenic, long wearing, full coverage that looks absolutely flawless.  Hands down, Probably the best foundation I’ve ever used. I like to wear this for special occasions or weekends out. It is on the pricey side but I think it’s worth every rand! If you want to try out this foundation before you buy, Estee Lauder counters give you a little sample to take home so you can make sure you get the right colour and try it out to see if it’s suitable for your skin. How awesome is that!

Mascara

The L’oreal Miss Manga mascara is the 1st mascara EVER, that I’ve used up right till the last bit.  This gives my lashes great volume and length and doesn’t flake.  I’ll definitely repurchase this again. And paired with the Catrice lash boost it takes my lashes to the extreme! The Catrice lash boost is basically millions of lash fibres in a bottle and can be used with any mascara. But not suitable for contact lens wearers as the fibres tend to stick on your lenses.

Concealer

I’ve seen reviews about the Catrice camouflage concealers, so I first bought the cream camouflage version in the little pot. It’s pretty great for covering blemishes but not suitable for under the eyes since it’s so thick and heavy it tends to crease and cake up under the eyes. So when I saw the liquid version, I was ecstatic! This works amazing at concealing dark circles under eyes and highlights at the same time.  No creasing either and it feels super light weight. I Simply LOVE this concealer.

Brows

Wet n wild eye brow kit. I use this on all my clients and have 1 for myself as well. It’s affordable and great quality! Comes with 2 shades of brow powders, a wax to set ur eyebrow hairs in place, a cute little tweezer for any stray hairs u need to pluck on the go as well as a brow brush which all fits into the compact with a pull out mirror. Everything u need to get your brows on fleek at an affordable price 😉

Blush

MAC blush in Tenderling
Its my perfect everyday blush shade that gives me a healthy natural flushed look. The formula is great too, applies smoothly and blends well and lasts all day.

Tools

Morphe M439 brush.
This brush is life! I use it everyday to apply my foundation and the result is a perfectly blended and flawless base, every single time. I like that it’s quite large compared to other brushes, which makes blending a breeze and much faster. 

Highlighter

Makeup Revolution triple baked highlighter and bronzer.
Honestly, From the very 1st time I swatched these, I fell in love. They’re sooo pigmented and apply so well. Every time I wear them, people ask what highlighter I use. Enough said.

Eyeshadow

NYX Pearl Mania Pigments. 
These are amazing! I use this combined with MAC fix plus as an eyeshadow and it looks amazing. Plus they’re really affordable. The shades I chose also double up as highlighters.

Lipstick
Maybelline colorsensational in fuchsia flash
This lipstick formula is so smooth and comfortable to wear. I love the texture and packaging. The colour pay off is great too. This shade is everything. [pssst, this shade is a dupe for macs candy yum yum] Definitely going to try other shades in this range.

We’d love to see or hear you guys’ makeup favourites for 2015, tag us on Instagram @makeupastorm

Stay tuned for our skincare favourites coming soon 😉

Mariam & Fatima ♡ xxx

XOXO Makeup a Storm

One thought on “2015 Makeup Favourites

Leave a Reply

