DIY Vitamin C Serum + Review

I know this sounds so complex and you’re probably wondering how the hell can one make a vitamin c serum?!But it’s actually super simple and easy! 😉 

I’ve been making and using my own Vitamin C serum for the past couple of months, I don’t know why I took so long to actually post about it coz I freakin’ love this stuff!

 

DIY vitamin c serum and review
 
You only really need 2 ingredients but you can customize it for your skin by adding some other stuff.

Before I go into the DIY, lemme share my review.

So as I mentioned I’ve been using it for a few months now, on and off.
But I can say I’ve used it long enough to give a full review.

I’ve just recently got into it again and seriously thought to myself “why did I ever stop??”

It’s THAT good!

The biggest and most noticeable difference or improvement I saw in my skin is lightening of my acne scarring, evening out my skin tone and the texture of my skin is smoother and more refined.

Overall my skin looks healthier, clearer and has a glow to it, which is what vitamin C is known to do for the skin!

All ingredients are non-comedogenic so I haven’t experienced any clogged pores from using it, that’s always good.

Vitamin C also stimulates collagen which is great for mature skins or if you just want to slow down the aging process, not forgetting, it’s also a fantastic antioxidant.

The best part about this? It’s super cheap and absolutely pure, there’s no fillers or artificial ingredients in it (unless you decide to add it in yourself 😜)

Now moving on to the DIY. 

You will need: 

Ascorbic Acid / L-Ascorbic Acid powder

Distilled Water

Optional – Glycerine, Witch Hazel, Aloe Vera gel
There are different strengths/ratios and they go as 5% 10% 15% and the highest is 20%

Making these different strengths will usually require some math skills so be warned!

The easiest way to figure it all out is to work with 100ml batches.
So for example, a 5% solution would require 5ml of ascorbic acid and 95ml of base solution (meaning water and if you opt for glycerin/witch hazel/aloe, all these need to equal 95%)
Keep in mind that ascorbic acid is a very unstable ingredient and goes rancid quite quickly, you will need to make a fresh batch at least every 2 weeks for best results.

You will know if your solution is going bad and needs to be thrown out if it starts turning yellow, you always want a clear solution.

It’s best to keep your serum in a tinted/opaque glass or plastic container such as those amber glass bottles essential oils usually come in, and you wanna keep it stored in a cool dark place, out of light, ideally in the fridge, which will extend it longevity.

Also, when making your solution, use only glass or plastic utensils, stay away from metal as it could react with the ascorbic acid, and make it less effective.

Another note, this serum will most likely tingle your skin when you first start using it, it is completely normal, you know it’s working. But, if it’s unbearable and your skin starts getting red and itchy, it’s probably not agreeing with you or it’s too strong so lower the strength of the solution, simply add some more water to dilute it. If it’s still having that effect on your skin then it’s a good idea to stop all together coz it’s not suitable for your skin.
Ideally you should start off with a 5% solution and every week or 2, yourself up to the next strength.
I recommend going from 5% to 7.5% instead of jumping straight to 10% coz it’s more gentle.

And it’s actually quite easy, just make a small batch of 5% and a small batch of 10% and mix the 2 together to give you 7.5%!
Tip: I also add some MSM powder to my serum and I love the results, the 2 ingredients actually go hand in hand and work incredibly well to build collagen and keep skin plump, hydrated and glowing!
I always add a teaspoon or 2 of glycerine, sometimes I add in some witch hazel.

Glycerine is a humectant and amazing if you have dry skin but you might wanna keep it at a minimum or cut it out completely if you have oily skin.

What’s nice about adding it to your serum is that it gives it that slip and tackiness that serums usually have. Again, if you don’t like the effect it has on your skin or you find it too oily then leave it out.

I’d say 5% of glycerine is more than enough for all skin types.

Now, because the solution is very liquidy, it’s basically like water, you have to be careful when applying, I usually apply small amounts at a time and sort of layer it on to portions of my face at a time, sometimes I use it as a toner on a cotton pad.

Ascorbic acid, MSM, distilled water and witch hazel can be found at Dischem or any health store.

Everything is really affordable, and by the amount of serums you’ll end up making with just a small amount of ingredients, it works out extremely cheap!

PS: I got my amber dropper bottles from a place called Dalgen , they were quite cheap as well, I just had to pay for courier and that was quite expensive.

Overall I highly recommend trying this out, it really works!

If you decide to give this a try, leave a comment and let us know your thoughts.
Much love 

-F 💋

3 thoughts on “DIY Vitamin C Serum + Review

  1. Always so afraid to conjure up my own skincare products, purely because I’m afraid I might cause myself to breakout insanely – but this one seems simple enough! Definitely going to try it out now 😊

    Like

  2. I’ve been struggling to find L-Ascorbic acid. Which brand do you use, because our local Dischem only have the plain ascorbic acid in tablet form?
    Can’t wait to hear from you

    Like

Leave a Reply

