March 2016 Favorites 

Hey guys!
Can’t believe we’re already almost 4 months into the year! 

And so I will be sharing with you my most used and loved beauty products for the month of March!

  
• LA Girl Nudes Beauty Brick – Eyeshadow Palette 

This has been well loved and used over the past few months now but mostly in the last few weeks. Whenever I travelled, It was the only palette I took with me.

The shades lean more pinky-purple instead of nuetral-nude shades but they are still subtle enough to be worn on a day to day basis.

I don’t need to go into too much detail coz this already seems to be a best seller and much loved palette.

You can create subtle or glam looks. Whatever floats your boat!


• LA Girl Pro HD Setting Powder
When I saw this on a trip to Dischem I popped it into my basket without hesitation.
I’ve never really seen anyone rave about it though. So that’s a first for me, I always do research before buying any products! Happy to say, another La Girl product that has not failed to impress me.

It is a very very finely milled powder, if you’re not careful, you could end up in a cloud of powder smoke!

But what really excites me is how great it is at setting the face, leaving it looking and feeling flawless and smooth, without drying it out.

I got this tip from a makeup artist on the internet when browsing reviews on silica based powders, he said to use a fan brush and very lightly dust over the face. If you use a dense powder brush you could end up applying too much and that’s when your face feels tight and dry and looks crepey!

That look is not On!

There’s honestly nothing about this that I don’t like. And at under R100, it’s a steal!
• Essence Lash Princess False Lash Effect Mascara


Another hyped up product. Everyone who has tried this has had only good to say about it.

You know a good mascara when you first apply it. I love the length and volume this gives without clumping. The formula isn’t too wet or too dry, and the wand is just the perfect size! Small enough for the lower lashes.
• Oval Foundation Brush

I’ll be honest and say I got this from AliExpress, straight from China! 

So it’s not branded or anything. Took a while to arrive and I had to reorder. No biggie since it only costs like R20!

I’ve only used it with my Kryolan Supracolor and it’s good enough for me! It’s the perfect pair to achieve flawless, airbrushed skin 😍 

It’s blends the cream foundation so well, doesn’t leave any streaks and really makes a little product go a long way. Because the synthetic bristles are so densely packed, they don’t absorb much product, if any at all!

I must admit, at first, it is a little weird to use and I wasn’t suite sure how to hold it and use it but once I got the hang of it, it’s super easy!
• Catrice Illuminating Blush in Coral me Maybe 😉😉
Such a a cute name for this blush 😉

The product itself is gorgeous too! Not too pigmented so it’s easy to achieve a natural flush.

It is a 2 toned blush and the center part has shimmers through it, hence giving you an illuminated application. 

The shimmers aren’t chunky and noticeable so you don’t end up looking like a disco ball, instead, your cheeks look naturally glowy and dewy! No need to added highlighter if that’s your preference.
• Rimmel Kate Moss Lipstick in 43
There isn’t a shade name besides 43…

The perfect Nide lipstick for me! 😍 not too light or dark, just the right amount of peach, pink and brown to it.

The formula is amazing too! Lasts well, feels comfortable on the lips and has a satin/creamy finish.
• Lime Crime Velvetines Liquid Lipstick in Riot


I won this in a giveaway from Iconique Beautique on Instagram. It’s such a pretty colour!

However I’m not a fan of matte (read dry) lips. So whenever I use this, it’s always mixed with something else. Either with the Rimmel lipstick I mentioned above or a gloss like the 1 mentioned below.

But again, the colour is really pretty, it’s almost like a burnt warm nude with a bit of mauve to it. Hard to describe 🙈
• CATRICE Shine Appeal Fluid Lipstick in Pink Macaron


Now even though this is called a lipstick, I’d actually call it a lipgloss. A pigmented lipgloss.
This is great on its own as well layered over other lipsticks.

Amazing colour pay off as well as a juicy glossy shine.

Doesn’t feel sticky or uncomfortable.
• CATRICE Liquid Camouflage Concealer in 020 Light Beige

This has been a favorite for a few months now but I haven’t used it that often, until a few weeks ago.

Love everything about this. Especially the fact that it isn’t drying, doesn’t crease, doesn’t settle into fine lines under the eyes, Ahmad amazing coverage, feels super light on the skin and doesn’t cake up.

Honestly if I had to try this without knowing what it is, I’d think it was high end. That’s how amazing the quality is! 

Unfortunately the only downside is the shade selection, I think there are only 2 or 3 shades available and if you’re medium to dark skinned, these concealer swill be wayyy to light, even for the purpose of highlighting.

My skin tone is light, around NC 20 in MAC, and I use the 2nd shade, which leans to the warmer (yellow) side of of the shade spectrum.
• Totally Wild Aloe 24 7 Organic Aloe Gel -Fro Problematic Skin
This has literally been a life saver! 🙏🏼

I’ll admit, when I ordered this I though it was a 100% aloe gel. And only when I got it I realized I was wrong and it’s got a lot of other ingredients in it. But…. I don’t regret buying it 1 bit!

99.8% of the total ingredients are from natural sources and 55% are from organic farming.

Here are some of the ingredients in it: melon seed oil, rooibos leaf extract, rosemary leaf oil, salicylic acid, lemongrass oil, sunflower oil, chamomile oil
A few week ago I started breaking out so badly, I couldn’t understand why my skin got so bad all of a sudden. Nothing really helped to control it. 

Until I started using this! 

It cleared up existing spots in like 2 days and has since worked well to prevent further breakouts. 

My skin is a lot clearer and healthy looking, it’s getting back to a good place and it’s behaving!

I also found that this has helped hydrate the skin around my eyes and keep it looking smoother.
The way I use it is almost like a treatment/serum. I apply it immediately after cleansing and wait for it to absorb and dry and then apply my Vintage Beauty cream as a moisturizer over top. I got it from a local healthcare stockist, and I paid R110 for it.

Definitely gonna repurchase!!! 👍🏼
That’s all for my favorites.

Please subscribe if you enjoyed this post and would like to keep in touch with us and future posts.
Much love xxx Fatima ❤️
Follow us on Instagram @makeupastorm and follow Vintage Beauty @VintageBeautySA

PS: Vintage Beauty is a skincare brand created by me (Fatima)

2 thoughts on “March 2016 Favorites 

  1. I bought that Catrice Blush for a friend in the US to send off next month. So glad to see you like it, so hopefully she’ll like it too. I haven’t tried it or swatched it as I bought it online.

    You can never go wrong with that LA Girl palette ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

